"Teaching 21st Century Students"

HOSA Members Compete On Saturday, November 20th!

12/13/2010 09:20


By Kaylee Griffin

    Members of the Health Occupation Students of America (HOSA) competed in the District 2 Competition on Saturday, November 20th at Clinton High School.
    There were twenty-five students in total who competed at this competition. All of these members will be advancing to the state competition in March.
    Placing students included Victoria Hernandez, Brandon Bishop, Zachary Daniels, Brianna Blow, Heather Heath, Ryan Rohrbach, Justin Faulkner, and Davis Wilson.
    Junior Victoria Hernandez, who placed 1st in Extemporaneous Health Poster, said “I enjoyed this competition, but I was nervous at the same time.”
    “I was nervous especially when the called my name last! The top ten placers are called to the stage, in a random order, then announced their places,” continued Hernandez.
     “I was so excited when I learned that I won first place!”
    Next year Hernandez still plans on competing, but in a different individual event.
     Freshman Justin Faulkner, who placed 4th in Extemporaneous Speech, said “My first competition was a lot of fun, and I’m looking forward to competing in the state competition.”
    Faulkner says he does not plan on competing in Extemporaneous Speech again, instead he plans on competing in Medical Terminology or Sports Medicine.
    “Next year, I want to compete in a team competition,” commented Faulkner.
    To practice for this competition, Faulkner had to sit in a room twice a week, all by himself, and had 10 minutes to write a speech and 5 minutes to present it to Mrs. Wilson and Mrs. Lewis.
     “I felt really prepared for this competition because I had practiced so much,” says Faulkner.
    HOSA main adviser, Lisa Wilson, says “Overall I was very pleased with this year with many stage placers and it was very pleasing for myself and the students.”
    Mrs. Wilson also says that she is really excited and proud of all of her students who are advancing to state.
     “This year we had the most freshman and first time competitors ever to compete with us in competition and we did a great job,” commented Mrs.Wilson. 

Back

Search site

© 2010 All rights reserved.